Important Changes

The University is progressively introducing new course structures for selected courses from 2010.
The structures will differ depending on whether you commenced a course in 2010, or whether you began prior to 2010.
To ensure we are showing you the correct course information, please make a selection below.

Do you want to view the new course structures or the old (pre-2010) course structures?

Once inside the handbook site you can change your choice between
old and new courses at any time using the coloured link on the top menu bar.

University of Tasmania Home Page Course and Units 2013


Schedules forAgricultural Science (and Microbiology)
Microbiology Units

2013 Agricultural Science (and Microbiology) - KLA

A) Agricultural Science

The School of Agricultural Science offers the following courses for students:
73M Bachelor of Agricultural Science,
S4A Bachelor of Agricultural Science with Honours
73N Bachelor of Applied Science ,
S4Q Bachelor of Applied Science in Agriculture with Honours.

B) Microbiology

Units in microbiology (allowing a major in the subject for the Bachelor of Science) are offered by the School of Agricultural Science and the Discipline of Pathology within the School of Medicine at Hobart.

Career outcomes in microbiology

Graduates majoring in Microbiology/Immunology will have an excellent training in applied aspects of microbiology with the potential to follow a wide range of career pathways. The course embraces aspects of food microbiology, marine and industrial microbiology, mycology, medical microbiology, immunology, antarctic microbiology and bioremediation, with graduates employed in all of these areas. Graduates often undertake a double major with Biochemistry, a combination that is ideal for a research career. BSc graduates in microbiology/immunology will be equipped with training particularly in cultural methods and identification, attributes that are in demand in quality control, agricultural, food and medical arenas. Openings are available in each of the specialised areas to pursue Honours and subsequently PhD degrees. These lead to research positions particularly in the public and private sectors.

Professional associations in microbiology

Most professional microbiologists are members of the Australian Society of Microbiology, a society that caters particularly to younger members. Membership of other associations will depend on the specialisation of the graduate.

Theme areas encompassed by the School of Agricultural Science

The School of Agricultural Science teaches units within the theme areas of Sustainable Primary Production(particularly relating to agriculture and forestry), Environment (Soil Science, Ecology) and Antarctic and Marine Studies (Antarctic and marine microbiology). Units relating to these theme areas are taught particularly in years 3 and 4 of the BAgrSc degree, years 2 and 3 of the BAppSc degree or in year 3 of the BSc degree.

The School of Agricultural Science has a strong contingent of postgraduate students who are pursuing specialised studies in all of these theme areas.

University of Tasmania Home Page Authorised by the Academic Registrar
© University of Tasmania | ABN 30 764 374 782 | CRICOS Provider Code 00586B
Copyright and Disclaimers | Accessibility | Feedback, Suggestions and Questions
Info Line 1300 363 864